Tuesday, September 28, 2010

Weekend Part 1: Daily Show + Inception

Now I know you're dying to hear about my weekend so here goes:

It's actually been the first weekend in weeks which I haven't spent worrying about the correlation between stress and hair loss. First off, I saw some Daily Show correspondants: Rob Riggle was the big one....he had Borat humor though which isn't the political sarcasm I looked forward to. Then I went to see Inception. Before everyone goes 'wait, you haven't seen inception?! what? how? who? why?' I'd just like to say I redeemed myself by going to see it. Problem solved. You still love me.

         ***MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS, SKIP TO BOTTOM OF PAGE IF YOU HAVEN'T SEEN INCEPTION****

It was amazing. Not only the special effects which were, of course, top notch.. but the idea itself fascinates me. The ability to enter other people's dreams and manipulate them is just insanely appealing. Unlike most people, I think it can definitely be done....maybe not through wires and sedatives but considering the level of technology we're at now including MRI scans that detect lying, the identification of which parts of the brain are responsible for which function etc, we will be able to manipulate dreams.

I feel that dreams are a reflection of the subconscious which, as the movie points out, is more powerful than our conscious selves. It contains all the good and bad that you've suppressed over the years...It's what haunts you when it forces you to relive your best and worst moments in your dreams...power like that is just nerve-racking. So why not manipulate this subconscious? Why not make it a part of your conscious being and go into your dreams and accept those moments?

Of course, I know that manipulation like what happened to Fischer in the movie is bound to happen if such technology becomes available. But that's all part of the fun, no?

The ending was frustrating to say the least but now that I think about it, it was the perfect ending to such a powerful movie. It would be too Hollywood to explicitly state that he got back to his kids and life was ladeeda....happy endings all around. So they left it up to the audience. Is he in limbo? What do you think?

They say there are talks of an Inception sequel...I don't know if I'd want to see it. I feel like this movie should stand alone...then again, it's Christopher Nolan and The Dark Knight was 10x more epic than Batman Begins. 

*** END OF SPOILERS***

Stay tuned for part 2!

Ciao!

No comments:

Post a Comment